Day Today

By Feathers14

Falling into Place

I've been reading the book that Eve got me for Valentine's day, and it's interesting as hell. It starts off with the history of photography.

One of the first pieces of wisdom it imparts is that photography translates as writing with light. Now I've started looking and thinking about lighting more, it's having an effect on the pictures I capture (it has on this one, at least). Reading this book has got me to open my eyes and actually see what is going on around me. I'm guilty of coasting through life on auto-pilot, missing great photo opportunities.

So as I was rolling out of bed this morning, the sunlight was coming in through the skylights in Eve's room and perfectly illuminated this rose I got her for Valentine's day (yes, I now know that yellow means friendship - oops!). I figured it would make for an interesting blip. Then I took the picture and the contrast completely blacked-out the background (no editing here) and this was the result, which I'm incredibly happy with.

Another minimalist picture - like this one - that is pretty moody. I like this one.

I'd love to say that I set it up because I knew what a great shot it'd be, but nope; I was just awake enough to 'see' the shot and take it.

A continuation of the good luck that is affecting our house at the moment: Henry has been called to a final interview with Deloitte Consultancy, Kris has been called to an assessment centre for British Gas for a summer internship and Raggy has been asked to do a gig filming a promotional video about mental health and we've contacted the biggest Bboy in the UK to organise an interview and coverage of a workshop he's running in March. Things are going pretty good.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.