Our lovely donkeys.

Well renewing my paid up membership of ancestry has resulted in a Guernsey cousin contacting me. 
Other than his name I don’t know very much about him yet but I do know he left Guernsey 50 years ago. It will be interesting getting to know him and sharing family stories. 
But my first task for today was call in at the Greffe for a copy of dad’s death certificate. No need for a clerk to look up the index to find which of the giant tomes to get out then copy the details onto a certificate. Records online so the lady tapped in his name and date of death; clicked print and said it was being printed where the Greffiers are so that one can certify it. A couple of minutes later I had the certificate in my hand and had parted with the £20 fee. Now that’s gone up a bit!

So I got the forms to request his Army service records all completed  and put in the post. I’ve been told that Lord HawHaw mentioned him once in his propaganda broadcasts. I’ve no idea why nor can I imagine how he would go about pronouncing our name! And I’ve no idea how to find out whether it’s true...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.