Cats & Dogs

By thecatsmother

Bill the Basher

Another gorgeous day, I am really thinking Spring is here....it'll be daffys and Hot Cross buns a-go-go before we know it!

Super walk this morning, and then a small pokette through the Vintage Clothes Establishments Charity Shops this afternoon, I am going back at the weekend, when I have time to try stuff on, lots and lots of things caught my eye today!

This blip may be the beginning of a series, we have a good few sculptures locally and it's been at the back of my mind to blip them for a while.

Bill the Smith

Installed in 2001. Originally made as a plaster in
1937, this is the last of the large sculptures to be
cast in bronze. The model was William Windsor
Laurence, known as 'Bill the Basher', who worked
as a blacksmith at Harry Maiden's in the New
Wynd. It is characteristic of Lamb's work that he
used local people to model for his sculpture.


Info from the Montrose Society

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.