About to turn

By jMcLean

Oh the boxes...

Last day here, seemed to both race and tick by. I didn't take a single photo until this evening, so all there is is this snapshot of my mom and sister looking very serious. We sorted through a couple boxes of my late Uncle Jay's letters and memorabilia, army medals, photos and faded tickets, souvenirs of his junior year abroad in Stockholm 1965...my dad's brother died way too young but in 1980, so it's silly to not be able to let go of these things. But the only family left to remember is my mom, my sister, and me, and we can't part with any of it. Anyway, more important and pertinent discussions were held re medical and legal stuff, and now I'm packed ready to leave before dawn. Taking home a silver stein engraved JM for Jay McLean, my initials too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.