pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Fine

I was feeling a little devil may care yesterday and decided to shake up my blip routine by posting a cute picture of The Youngest’s latest creation with some text in the form of some poetry/free verse.

There’s a chance that it wasn’t very good and had spectacularly missed the mark as within a few minutes of posting it, I had received a “You alright hun?” message from a concerned mother (mine)! Proud to say that I did not respond with “I’ll PM you” choosing instead to reassure her and agree that we’re all pretty fed up with the current state of affairs, which is kind of what I was driving at with my diatribe.

This second round of lockdown has definitely come with a different feel to the first and despite the restrictions on us being less intense and the meaning of the word “essential” taking on a new fluidity, it somehow feels like more of a grind than the first. Maybe that’s due to the weather or just the sheer fact that here in the UK we’ve been going through some form of this since March and it’s getting pretty, bloody wearing.

On the plus side, at least those of us with the strength to lament the current state of our lives, have the breath in our lungs to do so. There’s certainly around 50,000 others less fortunate than us, who would gladly swap places.

I responded to my mum saying that I am “fine”. The truth of the matter is that I am not “fine”, but then I would hazard a guess that the majority of people are also not “fine”. We’re tired, strung out and weary from a ceaseless barrage of uncertainty, but doggedly we keep on trying to push through one day at a time. None of this **gestures wildly everywhere (again)** is “fine”, BUT the good news is that this is just a temporary state of affairs and it will pass.

Maybe all those things that we took for granted before such as; visiting family and friends, popping out for a meal and/or drink, live shows, theatre, cinema, swimming pools, “non-essential” shops and services and many, many other things, we will hold much dearer once the final remnants of this storm have passed.

Now that would be just fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.