Fidge update

A beautiful benign day; flat clam, not a breath of wind.  The Orkney Isles are mainly flat, any wind soon strips away all the energy from the sun. Which brings to mind the three incredibly windy days when I was working across on Tiree, but nothing moved (except for double decker buses blowing past the window) all day.  Then there was one particularly breezy episode on Unst when I was trying to erect an aerial to call up a vessel about 200 miles away in the Atlantic.  It was also very cold and I had to shin up the aerial and fix lengths together with Allen keys.  I had the help of an assistant (who weighed about 18 stone so he couldn’t get up the aerial).  We gave up when we recorded 83 mph.  And another time when I was working in the Faroe Isles.  This too was bad wind – it was on that occasion that I found out what ‘Alka-Seltzer’ means in Danish.

I haven’t walked down round by the Fidge for ages but it’s a good place for wildfowl, snipe, even a couple of sky larks this morning.  Water rails can be heard in the Spring.

Later I went to the Balfour Hospital for an X-Ray.  The Current Mrs Creel has recently noticed sawdust on my pillow in the mornings.

Creel HQ can be seen on the left hand horizon; CMC is waving – her fist I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.