The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Canal At The Dog And Doublet

Back to the Midlands again on Saturday on family business, almost for the last time (unless the house sale falls through at the last minute).

We had lunch as usual at the Dog and Doublet near Bodymoor Heath, on the Birmingham and Fazeley Canal, but on this occasion we didn't do the usual walk up to the Kingsbury Water Park, but instead to Middleton Lakes nearby, where there is an RSPB reserve that includes a heronry. I hope we have an opportunity to explore further another time, but on this occasion we set off past the horses and geese at New House Farm and on to the bridleway towards the canal. It was extremely muddy but I did reach the canal near Fisher's Mill Bridge, though I could not get as far as the bridge itself, which leads to the towpath on the far side of the canal.

After the walk, we returned to the Dog and Doublet for cappuccino and treacle sponge pudding, and I took these shots of the sun setting behind the canal. On previous visits, I have lost a lens hood and a lens cap, and the pub tried to strike again when the lens cap on my 17-70mm lens vanished as I was putting the camera away, but this time I was able to thwart the curse by finding the cap on the car floor before we set off.

The drive up from Wiltshire and back was quite exhausting and I achieved very little the following day, hence I am again remiss at commenting, though I did manage to post up some backblips from the nineties and one from the previous day.

L.
19.2.2013

Blip #919
Consecutive Blip #004
Day #1059

Alternatives:
Fisher's Mill Bridge
Muddy Horse

Lenses: Pentax 17-70mm

Bodymoor Heath series


Lozarhythm Of The Day:
David Holmes - I Heard Wonders (2008)

One year ago: Devizes Wharf

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.