Twenty

I have no idea what all these red rose heads were doing on the beach today, but before we came upon them we did see a group of people hanging around the water's edge together.

The roses were fresh and vibrant, so obviously hadn't been there long. I counted 20 of them, but of course some might have washed away. We thought for a while about what they were doing there and decided it was probably some sort of memorial.

You can't help thinking someone was loved very much at some point in the story, whatever that story is.


My movements were pitiful by anyone else's standards today, but compared with my recent activity (or, lack of) today was rocking.
I coughed all morning and then we went to the beach with the dog and actually walked a bit. Then we went to the garden centre for lunch and I bought some biodegradable seed planters, artichokes, broad beans and cabbages to sow (couldn't find any Jerusalem artichokes, though, so rather disappointed). I also bought a new Vegetarian cookery book today (Richard and Joel will be THRILLED! ;) ) and am planning to get back on top of our nutrition.

The fact that I am thinking and planning is pleasing me - it means my brain is beginning to work again. The physical drawbacks of being ill have been bad enough but not being able to think properly has made it doubly AWFUL. I simply haven't been able to deal with anything, make decisions, or understand or even conduct a conversation. I am woefully behind with all sorts of emails and other communications and haven't even been with it enough to explain myself to people. Now I'm coming I realise I have to put that straight and do a bit of streamlining with my obligations. I have to keep things simple for a while if I am to survive. Well I have to anyway. I have no choice.



Coughing is still wearing me out, but hey-ho! You can't win 'em all. The sun was sunny and the sky was sky-y today. My legs were leggy and my thoughts were thinky


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.