Patience

‘This might take several months’ would be more apt than this warning, which was imposed upon me automatically when my laptop shut down. It is 8 months ago today that I fatefully arrived on these shores and the realisation is dawning that it is likely to be next year before I can wade through the bureaucratic visa processes and return to Mozambique. I need to make my peace with it as a permanent state of limbo is not serving me very well.

Thank goodness for good friends who distract me from things wonderfully by watching the Great British Bake Off with me via Skype. The latest episode saw some marvellous jelly creations stacked on top of cake. It’s inhuman how talented some people are.

I haven’t yet figured out why there’s a post-it of a pair of cherries with human faces at this desk I’m temporarily using. One of the many odd things about 2020.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.