Grey Green

Shot mid-afternoon.

AW returned late in the afternoon.  We both had nice weekends, to each his own.

Finished my mandala colour plate.  It'll be tomorrow's post, if there is enough light to get a good shot of it.

Some housework.  And neither of us watched the news tonight.  There was something I posted on FB, though, for some friends who've wondered -- 

'About 5 FB friends have shared their anxieties about the US as events continue to unfold there, and have wondered why I appear to be distancing myself, in a way, from the current crisis. I have just replied to one of these friends, who is a dear friend of mine, and I will share my response here --

"This has been a depressing four years already, and I cannot celebrate Biden's win until he has been properly installed, so I understand the anger, the disbelief, the frustration, the sadness. I have had many sleepless nights just wondering what will become of us all. And then I remind myself that this, too, will pass; that I do not live there; that there are many other things I need to pay attention to. One almost needs a superhuman effort to ignore it. I've even asked Ad why it should bother me while other dictatorships do not, and the answer is that the US is a superpower, and we already have two too many -- Russia and China. And yet life has to go on. I know how it feels to live with worry and anxiety, and the need to fix things first, but some things I cannot fix and will never be able to fix, so I have to focus on those things that I can fix, and the US is not one of them. I'm sorry for the Americans and their political systems, yes, and this is their mess, unfortunately (for them). I can only hope, for their sakes, that the situation will soon change for the better."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.