Late afternoon light shining above Weyhouse

It has been a particularly lovely day with the sun beginning to warm the air during the day, no wind and blue sky. I took the opportunity to thoroughly clean the car, inside and out, while listening to a recording of the Bob Dylan concert in Cardiff from about fifteen months ago which I saw, heard and loved.

I was expecting a parcel to be delivered so I pottered about for the rest of the day. When it finally arrived I took it fairly swiftly out to the garden to try it out. This is the view from the back garden's boundary looking down onto the Lime Brook and the slope up to Weyhouse woods and the old way which leads up through the trees to The Heavens on the top of the far hill.

I wanted to have a picture of this part of the landscape as part of a series of seasonal views. The sun sets behind the ridge of Rodborough Common on the far side of the main river valley, so still has strength in its rays. I love to se the burnishing of the branches of the bare branches and the warm light on the beech leaf covered floor at the edge of the woods. I think I will like this new lens.

This shows part of the same view from a few weeks ago, with a snowboarder setting off down the white hillside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.