Some Belted Galloways

We drove to Cheltenham this morning as I had a dentist appointment and Helena was going to meet an old friend for lunch and chat. The day started brightly but by the time we set off mid-moprning the clouds had returned and eventually drizzle predominated. After the treatment I pottered about the streets of Cheltenham looking into shops and visiting the local studies department of the library which has a few books that our local library doesn't have, so I must return with a bit of time on my hands.

I headed back home across country via the top of the Cotswold escarpment and as I neared Bisley, I spotted this field which I have meant to blip several times before. The reason os that at the moment there is a small herd of Belted Galloway cows seeing the winter out. Actually they are a very hardy breed most suited to very steep hillside pastures which other cows can't manage. They are often seen on the hills and the valleys' sides near to our house.

I pulled into the very muddy gateway by the road and by the time I had got my camera out and switched on the cows were already trotting slowly over to see what I might be offering. The stood off just a few yards from the gate and we looked at each other and I talked to them. I think they are very pretty cows with their long black coats and white belts. They were wary but fascinated and I presume any thing out of the ordinary becomes interesting when you are stuck in a wet and muddy field for the whole of winter. I've added a couple of other pictures of them to my Flickr gallery

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.