The first cemetery record books

Another lazy day for us both today and Helena's half term is proving very relaxing for me. My only appointment today was at the doctor's surgery again to have my ears checked out and all was well. But this morning I had a call from the council office asking me to come in and sign some cheques which I have to do regularly.

The office is closed to the public after 2pm, so when I rang the bell the assistant clerk came to open the doors for me. She showed me the pile of cheques and the related invoices for me to check the figures were correct. When I had finished, I went to find her in one of the rear rooms where she was working. One of the clerk's jobs is to keep all the official town records which have to be written up by hand in the Records Books.

The Town Council is responsible for maintaining Stroud cemetery and for any burials that are required and the whole site is now a nature reserve. It was opened in 1856 and the Gloucester Journal describing the Consecration of Stroud Cemetery said:
'The Church portion of the new cemetery on Stroud Hill was consecrated by the Lord Bishop of the Diocese on Monday last. About forty of the clergy were present and there was a very large concourse of people. The morning was exceedingly fine and favourable. The new cemetery is a very pretty and advantageous site. It is a sloping piece of ground five or six acres in extent, situated about a quarter of a mile out of town, on the road to Bisley and commands an extensive and delightful view. It has been tastefully laid out with shrubs and walks by Mr. W. Foster, Nurseryman. The following day, two paupers from the workhouse were interred there.'

The cemetery was extended relatively recently on an adjacent field site and the whole area is still a delightful place to visit with its wonderful views. We live close by.

When I saw S. writing the entries of the latest burials in the books I asked her about the old records. It turned out they were all in the large safe seen at the back of the picture, so I took out the earliest books. They record who was buried and where and were a very poignant read. The leather bindings are a bit worn but the leather covers are still beautiful to behold. The new book, which you can see on the right, is virtually the same. S. said that the old books will probably be going to the Public Records Office in Gloucester, although it seems that they are still needed occasionally to trace the whereabout of specific graves when a family member wishes to be interred with their forebears.

I closed the books and put them back and left S. to carry on the traditions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.