CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Back in Andrew W.'s studio

Andrew took up my offer of trying to re-shoot his pictures for the exhibition catalogue, after my first attempts of a couple of days ago weren't as good as we hoped for. I took some lights with me today and had a bit more time to set up the shots. I filmed four of his sculptures, with three hanging on the wall, and a fourth one, which was four feet tall set up on a large base on the floor.

I quite enjoyed the task and I have now offered to return when I have more time in order to record all his various sculptures which are currently adorning his home and studio spaces. Andrew was very pleased to get relatively good quality images, which makes it all my effort worthwhile, whilst I get to practice and improve on my minimal lighting skills. What I really want to do next is set up free standing flash units triggered by radio transmitters. I have one good flash gun and one transmitter, so I may have to invest in some other bits and bobs. But it will be very useful to learn to light objects and play around a bit, and then I can hope to try it out on portraits of people with a bit more skill and finesse than I have at present.

This blip image though was recorded after I had taken down the lights and removed my tripod. I reverted to handheld high ISO shooting and took this view of a group of figures which are set up on a table at the back of the studio. I think it is an older work by Andrew, as I remember seeing it before some years ago. Andrew is now suffering from a very serious debilitating illness and he told me that he can't do the delicate painting work anymore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.