Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Daring

"To dare is to lose one's footing momentarily.
To not dare is to lose oneself."

Soren Kierkegard (Danish Philosopher)


After being labelled a malloholic by aprecious (no offence taken whatsoever), I have very cheekily decided to blip a mall to the end of the week!

Today's pictures are of Deira City Centre (where I had to exchange an item I purchased on Sunday). It opened in 1995 with Carrefour and IKEA as its anchor stores, so is one of our older ones. I moved out of my Dad's flat around the same time, so there were numerous trips to this mall. It has a very simple layout and is very much designed for retail and not necessarily entertainment, though a cinema was added on about 10 years ago. The pictures above show the 3 main sections and how natural light is brought in. The roof panels are the same stretched material used to create the sail on the Burj Al Arab.

It also has a "no photography" policy(??!!!) very politely and tactfully informed to me by a security guard. I had already taken a number of shots in one section (left) by this stage. I, er, told him how ridiculous that was, and he agreed, but had to inform me of the rule nonetheless! I'm afraid I need a better explanation than that and quite daringly, walked across to the far side (right photo) and took some more pics, including one of the central section on my way there. I managed to avoid all the security guards so didn't get ejected.

I have to reiterate - I AM law abiding, but that rule is just plain dumb.

See some of the shops and the Buy 1 get 3 Free offer.

The sharp eyed among you may notice a Woolworths. This is where I was heading to. One floor above it is what I call "electronics heaven", the store I would most like to max out my credit card!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.