Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

No. 5

I've lived to tell another tale...

Thanks for the concern re photographing inside malls. I remembered a blip I did last year on Mall Rules. This is typical stuff posted at the entrance to retail therapy centres here and as you can see, photography doesn't get a mention. So, armed with this knowledge, and double checking before I entered todays mall - Bur Juman - down the road from me, I boldly went forth to get my blip! A Security man saw me and said nothing.

I actually had genuine reason to visit as a special watch needs a new battery and it has to go back to the agent. It will be a week before I see it again. This may sound normal to some, but in Dubai, things like this usually get done while you wait.

Anyway, back to Bur Juman... this is the newer section of it. I blipped its food court earlier in the month. The original mall which was completed in 1992 is now closed for 18 months to undergo full refurbishment! I am in a decidedly American part - Saks Fifth Avenue and DKNY here. The glass ceiling is a real feature as is the snake-like staircase! Another one that is totally geared to retail - it doesn't even have a children's play area!

Had a GOOD day today as G had a bone density scan and did important blood tests ready to see her oncologist by the end of the month. The scan came back with everything Normal which is FAB. Woo hoo! The blood results we have to wait for till next week.

A good day; apart from being called a criminal and an anarchist (wink, wink)!! ME?! NEVER!!! :)) <big smile>

Thanks for stopping by...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.