A day in the life

By Shelling

Summer left behind

We had extremely mild weather today, for November 18. The weather forecast tells us that temperatures are falling from tomorrow and we can expect cold weather and occasional frost. I believe it when I see it.

But, I don't fancy laying on my knees in the mud and slush changing from my summer tyres to the winter ones, so I changed them this afternoon. The summer tyres, now left in my garage, gets useless when the temperature creeps below 5 degrees Celsius because the rubber hardens below that temperature. The rubber in winter tyres are therefore produced in another way so that they will keep their grip even in low temperatures. Generally the patterns in the rubber are also different and deeper. 

We can ruffly choose between two kinds of winter tyres, with or without studs. For my small car I chose the ones without studs because the roads are mostly snow-free in the winter in this part of Sweden and the studs wears away the surface of the road, leaving micro particles which are no good for your health when they end up in the lungs. The debate on which type of tyre is the best choice is never ending every winter. 
Anyway, for me, winter is here.

The rest of the day has been left for studio work, mainly editing. Fun but extremely time-consuming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.