stuartjross

By stuartjross

Braeroy

I must have looked at the clock wrongly before setting off for this one. Late Saturday afternoon I was sure there was still time to get to the top of the glen and back before darkness.
I turned just up from Turret Bridge and it was about 4.30. I had the wee lights attached but I have never had them on for a sustained period. I set the front one on its dimmest setting to preserve the battery. It felt like it  only took another 5 minutes to reach full darkness. Oddly hitting the gradients came easy because my speed was limited by the dim lamp. Eventually I turned it to its full power and the difference was remarkable. I was back at the garden gate about 5.30. The bike and my lower half had got pretty dirty because I couldn't spot the puddles early enough to dodge them.
The ride wasn't what I planned but the surreal effect of whistling down the quiet glen road with the cycle lamps was enjoyable..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.