Remnants of a Snake

In early June, I blipped the Shepshed Snake, a trail of painted stones that had been laid in line by children of Shepshed, made of Shepshed Rocks.

I was very pleased to read in the summer that the town council finally accepted a recommendation that the 'snake' should be re-located to a more permanent location in Glenmore Park. I have yet to discover if that actually happened. Basil and I must investigate.

When we went up to the old railway line on Sunday afternoon, the snake had obviously been dispersed. I think what is sad about it was that so many children put effort into it and their rocks have not been chosen.

I picked up three which are pictured here.

Basil and I went out for our walk early this afternoon unaware that it was about to rain. The rain got heavier as we walked home and my coat was soaked by the time we got back to Romway Close. Fortunately, Basil was wearing his little red Scottish coat. As soon as I released him from his lead, he shot off along the road and around the corner, straight for home. He did come back looking for me. When he saw I was there, he turned round and ran for home. Len was ready to let him in.

Ashby Photographic Society had invited me to judge a competition today. The theme was Abstract. As I said, there's no easy way to judge abstract. When it comes down to it, the winner will be the photo I like best.

What with one thing and another, it was a busy day. It's now 11pm and I'm still writing up my blip. Must go to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.