A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Great Blue Heron Sighting1

I would love to make this a series, but alas, nature has a way of doing things on her own terms. Today was a gorgeous day with azure blue skies and a chill in the air, but not too much. I'm looking forward to getting my arms and legs exposed to some sunshine, but it's still a little early here for that.

I'm not sure I accomplished anything today, but I think that's just my current attitude. I feel rushed as I write this so I will simply say that Friday is over. Monday will be my first day watching baby Olivia full time for the next eight weeks. I'm hoping to keep things going with the official start of Big Fat Soap Co. The website should be up and running in about a month, the salon will be promoting it and things will be moving along. I got the most beautiful handmade paper from an online store this week, that will make the labels look so naturally beautiful. It's very exciting to see things come together. Now, if I can just keep my head above water while caring for sweet O'via.

I stood on the shore of our small pond and saw the Great Blue Heron over on the opposite side. It flew a short distance and landed. Then, surprise surprise, another one flew up and over my head, so I clicked away and captured this. It was a difficult decision to choose one to blip today. I took some great water reflection shots and even some daytime moon shots, but I have the 50mm lens on, so no zoom and certainly no telephoto (in my dreams). This pair of Herons lives here and possibly nests here each year, but they are shy and I've never seen babies. They are magnificent birds 3-4 feet tall, with an 8 foot wing span. It is not unusual to see one standing on the shore in the early morning fishing for breakfast (frogs or fish, they're not picky). It's exciting to see two at the same time.

Today I am grateful that my tax man is applying primer to the new drywall (no more sanding!) and for beautiful Great Blue Heron days like today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.