Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Eye

looking
up river
eye upon tyne


Following on from Five Bridges and Four Bridges, here's another view of the iconic Tyneside bridgescape, this time including the newest member of the family, the Gateshead Millennium Bridge. When I was living in Newcastle I came to watch the bridge being floated up river and lifted into place, and event for which the images lie in my pre-digital archive. Meanwhile, the rebuilding of Gateshead continues, with the cranes to the top left busy with the Trinity Square replacement to the Get Carter car park.

For the last day of our short visit we went to the Discovery Museum, which is a great learning resource, albeit a tad noisy at half-term.

A busy three days, and very nice to be back in places where I spent twelve years of my life, and where K and I started raising our little family together.

Tyneside back blips:

Sunday - Angel
Monday - Anchored

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.