Of rich and royal hue..

By mintlawquine

Dad's turn

You'll have guessed this is a photo of a photo. I'm still at my mum's where this framed photo has graced the top of the dresser since Dad died in 1986. This is one of mum and I's favourite photos of him, dressed in his cricket whites. He was only 61 when we lost him, a year younger than I am now. That's always a sobering thought.

Dad was a man who lived life to the full. I often wonder what he would make of these 13 great-grandchildren that he never had the chance to know. I know he would have loved each and every one of them dearly - and they him. He lives on though - through these little ones, and in the memories of this great, extended family, some of whom still play cricket, the game he loved with an all-consuming passion.

PS Mum got a lovely outfit for the wedding today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.