stuartjross

By stuartjross

Sand Stone

First, thank you very much for all the kind words of encouragement for my road side photo at Laggan Resrvoir last night. It found its way to the spotlight which I am delighted about.

Today was almost a rerun of yesterday's trip to Forres; which wasn't work related but I may talk about that outing again later.

Working on open hill side, which is work we are very fortunate to pick up now and again, is literally a breath of fresh air. Today we were in a very noisy quarry. There were diggers, trucks coming and going and the constant clatter of a crusher being topped up and processing rock. In spite of this there was also a regular even louder roar of circling military aircraft; G4 Tornadoes I think; in the blue sky above. If I don't map this blip this will probably tell you my general area today.

It was a right hard shift walking on difficult heaps of angular rock. The saving grace was that it was a perfect day for such work. Dry, bright, surprisingly cold but the moisture retained in the ground from melting frost suppressed a lot of dust. Mid afternoon saw a strange har roll in off the Moray Firth and by the time we set off home this corner of Moray at least was engulfed in thick fog.

The morning drive was a frustrating one such were the road side blip opportunities but I knew fine we had a mountainous task when we got to the site and daren't waste a second.

M told me about the spotlight when I came in and asked what I had got for blip today, given the near perfect sparkling sun shine. I said a stone in a quarry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.