Aonach Mor

I was reluctant to start putting pen to blip paper right at this moment such is my foul frame of mind.
I know I girn about getting cold, a bit wet, meeting seemingly impossible client expectations but in truth our job is a very enjoyable one with a fair amount of satisfaction. You see a lot of places you would never go otherwise –even areas that eventually become a destination for a later family holiday- and if our service helps a project move forward all the better.
There are two sides to the office work; technical data processing for output to the client and then accounts stuff. I was forced to look at the latter today and then had to get on the phone such was the volume of overdue stuff. Of all the correspondence that gets lost in the mail (even virtual) a disproportionate amount appears to be invoices. Vast faceless accounts departments come away with a myriad of excuses;
“That’s another department”
“That one is on hold till we get paid” (I know, does anyone think that is a reasonable excuse? Perhaps I can say that at the till at Asda!),
“It is in hand, probably another three or four weeks”
To be fair, small individual customers are very straightforward and prompt with payment.
Sometimes it would be nice to come home on a Friday night and know that the wages were in the bank. Mrs Cakes observed I scoffed a delicious dinner tonight and it could have been a plate of cold baked beans for all the savouring of it I displayed.

The picture; this is Aonach Mor the ski centre mountain that has acquired the general Nevis Range title to have broader appeal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.