Meanders

How I look forward to the time when we can try clothes on again in the stores and not have to waste time buying first and then having to return because what looked good on the 5’10” skinny model makes me look like a wee bauchle.

Duvet coats are the very fashionable things to wear now the temperatures are falling ; lucky are they, the tall slender ones who actually look good in them. Unfortunately I am not that person which is why I had to go back into town this morning and hand back the one I had chosen.
I do have a 2 year old model which is straining at the seams now post Covid, but the zip actually does close with difficulty and will have to suffice for now.

It is strange but true that people who are trying to eat less are drawn to baking or cooking as some sort of perverse distraction from hunger pangs. The 4 overripe bananas staring me in the face in the fruit bowl were begging to become a banana loaf. I gave them their wish and then needless to say I had to have a slice for quality control purposes. Therein lies my problem .......but the rest will be given away to deserving causes.

The book group had a Zoom discussion of the latest read - The Giver of Stars by Jo-Jo Moyes. It says much about us that we were almost embarrassed to say we liked it as someone thought it might be too Mills & Boonish for our illustrious company. We have compensated for any lowering of standards by selecting the next read to be last year’s Booker Prize winner Bernadine Evaristo’s ‘Girl, Woman, Other’. It doesn’t sound like a read in bed kind of book to me.

The day has slipped away again with only 7 hours of light. It’s dark outside now, the blinds are drawn and everything is shutting down outside, Not a complete lockdown here in the City but we cannot travel outside it, so my eagerly anticipated posh dinner with my stepdaughter and son-in-law who live in Melrose is cancelled next week. No wonder Christmas trees are going up all around me- grabbing any cheer while we can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.