Not the Best Day

It may be sunny and inviting as I write this entry at 3pm but I got caught in a torrential downpour as I made my way home from another visit to the bank, the Gallery in Dundas Street and Waterstone’s book shop. There was no way of avoiding a soaking and having ditched my wet clothes, I was feeling miserable enough before I got a message from Magpie telling me that her Mum had died, not of Covid but of old age and fragility.

Her Mum was the wife of my late cousin and when I lived in Glasgow our families saw a lot of each other. Syb (or wee Syb if alluded to by a tall Magpie) was the very essence of a dutiful and good humoured wife to my very demanding and difficult cousin. She will be a sad miss to the family but especially to Magpie and her siblings.
I reflect on the fact that I am now the oldest female in my own extended family- and apart from His Lordship’s brother, the oldest of that generation. It doesn’t make me feel any less miserable!

My blip is another one of desperation, featuring a bake off of biscuits waiting to be iced and another TV occupation for my hands- a crocheted shopping bag.
However now that I’ve collected by book group read, I may have to turn off the TV and read because it sure doesn’t look like an easy bed time read.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.