Artefacts

A quite day at home in which my main accomplishments were 

* eventually getting round to picking up some leaves and putting in bin to mulch down over the next two to year years (gardening takes patience) 
*making a rice pudding in the slow cooker (which we had for tea - less patience required).

I also took part in a U3A meeting about different collaborative projects which are going  on across the country - really interesting and did some more work related to the postal worker pensioners I am taking part in. This too is really interesting, partly finding out about their lives with interesting stories emerging but also in how people from different areas are coming together and helping overcome research brick walls. 

This lead me into looking through some of my family history memorabilia including an autograph book of my grandmother from 1921/1922 when she would have been around 13.  It was used not to collect the signatures of famous people but rather sayings and drawings from classmates, such as this one. 

I'm now going to try and find out more about the contributors. 

This evening we are going back to the West Wing.  We are not amused by Series 4 of the Crown - not so much because much of it is heavily fictionalised but because it is unbelievable and not especially well done. We will return to it next week and finish it. 

I was also delighted that Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart won the Booker Prize. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.