Incidence

This image appealed to me on a number of levels. At first I was surprised to find ice had formed, I didn't think it that cold. I began to explore using the frozen edge as a leading line, however I thought, to be a leading line, it should lead somewhere.

I decided I liked the triangular shape of the ice and how it intersected with the line of the tree reflection, which in this case is not hidden by the ice, or next to the ice, but partially overlapping it. I also liked the ice's contrasting roughness against the water surface, smoothed by a slightly longer exposure.

There is additionally, a predominance of blue versus the warm tones of the tree. And finally some warm light catching the leading edge of the ice.

I found a 4:3 crop seemed to work best, given it's a vertical image, which allowed the line of ice to start in the bottom right corner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.