Gilded willows

After a damp grey start, the sun appeared about midday. Those life affirming rays have been pretty absent this week, so, as soon as I reached a suitable stopping point in my current report, I hopped into the car and headed out to Swaddywell Pits for a meander. 

The sunshine and solitude did wonders for my equilibrium, and although there wasn't much bird activity or many fungi, I just soaked up the atmosphere. The Grey Willows which are frequent throughout the site turn a wonderful shade of gold in late November, and co-ordinate beautifully with the less harsh tones of Common Reed and Wood Small-reed. Rose-hips and Hawthorn berries complete the picture with some cheerful splashes of red.

In the evening Sarah and Ben treated us to a Chinese takeaway. It was the third anniversary of their relationship, but this year they couldn't go out for a meal to celebrate as they normally do. The portions were very generous and we didn't manage to get through all of it, though I'm sure nothing will go to waste! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.