Common Grey Disco Fungus

Another morning spent at Molly's, with two house valuations interspersed by more clearing cupboards and drawer and tidying the garden, which hadn't really been looked after very much in 2020. I managed to nearly remove a fingertip while cutting back a very vigorous Canary Broom. Fortunately we keep a first aid kit in the car, and although there was a lot of blood I'm sure it'll heal nicely. We're not usually such an accident prone family!

It was very overcast by the time we got home, and I didn't feel like going out for a walk, so had a ferret round the garden where I found these Common Grey Disco Fungus on the underside of a fallen Apple branch. I see them quite regularly on very rotten wood, but have never found such frilly individuals before! Of greater interest (though less photogenic) was a nice specimen of a yellowish spiny corticoid fungus which I finally identified as Mycoacia uda. Rather helpfully, it turns deep purple if you drop potassium hydroxide onto it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.