Draped

We had planned to have BeachesDoogie and Impy over for a visit tomorrow, but with the new restrictions in the province and the call to stay in our own communities except for essential travel, we decided to postpone it for now.  We'd already postponed a visit from last weekend. G and I hummed and hawed about cancelling it, but we agreed that it's the right thing to do. I'm so disappointed and had a few tears because it might be quite a long time before we can get together. I also cancelled our eye appointments on Vancouver Island for next Friday, and we'd planned to visit them over there then too, triple disappointment. They understand completely.  So...I really needed a fitness and photography walk today to get fresh air and time in nature. It's been several days since I've been out for a walk, and I headed down to Xwaaqw'um. I thought it would cheer me up and it did.  It was windy and cool, but I was bundled up and was actually too warm!
We had another phone conversation with a friend we haven't talked with for too long. Like Sheila, the good friend we talked with yesterday, Val is also a person we both worked with, a real character and story-teller, and it was a pleasure to reconnect. This is the first time in about 30 years that he hasn't gone to warmer climes for the winter, so he's hoping he can make it through okay. I'm sure he will. He has lots of plans to keep himself busy: digitizing his photos (he's a terrific photographer), learning Spanish, playing the piano again, small gatherings with his friends who also love opera. He's single and so far single people can get together in small groups. Very active physically and mentally, Val is a great role model for aging well. He's 84, quite a few years older than I am, but you'd never guess his age if you met him. I wish you could! 
I liked this scarf draped over the gate. Extra: a natural and manmade combination and what we don't see when a tire is on a vehicle. Of course the rust caught my eye.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.