giraffe in the woods

I saw a baby giraffe in the woods this morning, a giraffe that clearly had been separated from its family. Someone carefully placed it where it could be seen next time the family comes through. 

We've had lousy internet for several days. Today I took two hours off of work to get it sorted out. I learned that even though I'm paying for 100 Mbps I am getting one quarter that. That isn't even the problem. The problem is that it keeps going in and out. I had started to suspect that it was the router and they thought so too. Apparently it is ancient. They wanted me to pay an obscene amount for some wildly wonderful fancy new router that dances in circles and casts magic spells. My success for the day was getting a cheaper plan with better service and not paying extra for the router. 

We've begun season 3 of The Crown and it is just painful to see this young, innocent, happy child. I'm also extremely glad to not have to live a life where I have to live in homes like that. They are too crowded with glitzy, fussy stuff. I can't imagine having to learn all that protocol. I'm not good at following orders. I didn't even attend my last two graduations. Can you imagine how quickly I'd be drummed out of the military? 

I know how awful it is to spend a holiday alone. After I graduated from college I spent Christmas alone. I desperately needed money, especially since it took so long to get a job in the recession, so I worked the day before and after Christmas. I thought it wrong to work Christmas, but I wish I had so I wouldn't have been alone. Karen, hearing my misery over the phone, determined I would never spend Christmas alone again. 

I know Thanksgiving will be hard for people in single households and I am so sorry. At least we can place long-distance phone calls now and we can combine video. 

And if that isn't enough, gorge yourself and drink, it is Thanksgiving and it is meant for gluttony. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.