Kenophobia

Who knew there is a word for fear of empty spaces.

I had to work at the framing here to exclude intrusions and still there are a few stray reflections. I remember wanting to keep the point of entry of the stick and the circle of disruption in the water tension around it.

I often read about trying to achieve an illusion of depth in a photograph and conversely, the difficulties of imagining a scene in two dimensions, but I think it's interesting to play with the crossover. In other words, to create an illusion of flat space using a realistic subject. How much of vision is in the mind's eye.

In this case, the stick and its reflection seemed to form the letter K, hence the title of my post.

I toyed with cropping but the foreground elements eventually seemed important.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.