Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Three Sisters

As an authentic Blue Mountains resident I feel that it is encumbent upon me to shoot the iconic Three Sisters at least once a year. This time I am making the shot from the Eagle Hawk Lookout - an entirely different viewpoint when compared to Echo Point, where 99% of pictures are normally made.

From here you can see that centuries (maybe millennia) ago there might well have been SIX (or more) sisters ... and even earlier there would have been a solid ridge like Tableland Plateau in the background..

Every year at about this time,  I rabbit on about how intense the light gets to be around here, which cuts out a lot of options for landscapes and forces a lot more pre-planning upon the photographer. Right now it is 6:00pm, Any earlier in the day and I'd have been battling with dynamic range and washed out colours. From this angle I do have the sun  behind me, which overcomes most of the harsh shadows.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.