LesTension

By LesTension

COLORFUL BIRDS

As North American birds go, this Ring-necked Pheasant (Phasianus colchicus....an introduced species from Asia) is among the most colorful. I was driving around yesterday and I saw three rooster pheasants and one hen cross this dirt road ahead of me and disappear into the brush along side the road. I crept up slowly until I came close to them and tried my best to get some decent shots. But they refused to come out of the brush and give me a decent opportunity. This is the best of the lot...shot out the car window at 600mm focal length.

EXTRA: This is another cool blue bird, the Blue Jay (Cyanocitta cristata). I saw him land on the road out of a tree and I thought he was grabbing some gravel to grind up food in his crop. It wasn't until I uploaded the files that I saw, clearly, he was snatching up corn (maize) seeds. Must have fallen out of the wagon when the local farmer transported them from the field to storage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.