Transitoire

By Transitoire

Je triste qu'elle part

I watched this video, and was more than struck by it. Especially this section:-
'I like to say that I take after you, because I think that you're such a great person, and I aspire to be more like you as an adult. And I think if I could be just like my mum that would be the greatest gift that I could have.'
This sums up with my relationship with my entire family actually, I cannot wait to see them all.

Started my day with the sixième, just the normal class. Got into a little panic at the beginning of the lesson, similarly to last week I encountered the entire class outside the classroom...without their teacher. You know when your heart does that little sinking feeling? Well it was most definitely there this morning! Luckily it turns out that she was only a few minutes late, and the lesson commenced. Well, I spoke about English money for an hour! Surprised to see how awed the pupils were with a little pounds sterling in notes and change, but I guess if you're used to every country having the same currency, these kind of things are different. And interesting. Did not realise that that amount of time could be spent on something as simple as currency! Guilty confession: I don't actually know what the biggest banknote we have is (I know, fail of an English person!)...is it £50, £100 or £1000?

This was then followed by two hours with the cinquième INTER. Not my favourite class, I know...but today they behaved well enough for their class...and I felt like we really got some work done. Although, embarrassing confession: in translating French into English, I translated cent trois (one hundred and three) as trois cent (three hundred)...to the pupils great delight, although they did pick it out straight away which is better than nothing! Sometimes I don't think they understand or know that this is also my learning of a language, and that occasionally I will make mistakes, or they think that I am bilingual anyway and that is it just a bit of a joke! We were looking at the differences between translation and original songs, and that number just happened to come up in one of the songs we were doing. Interesting topic to talk on I think, but we must crack on...

As the troisième are still on stage I had no classes until the late afternoon, so I headed home to try and catch up on my life in France so I can come back to my life in England for a bit! Then back in to teach the sixième INTER...with their new film, Tangled. The girls, more than impressed and completely loving it...boys, not so sure! They'll grow to love it, and if they don't...well there's only two lessons left of it...

Spent my evening having a meal with Dana, Christine and Anna. Dana is leaving late tomorrow, and I'm gutted...I really don't want her to go! But then again, no choice in the matter at all. And it was a great meal, and I hope this isn't the end of our friendship.
After the meal we all went to Café Polyglotte for the language café, which was fun as ever! I think I spoke mainly in French, with a smattering of English...glad that I get the opinion, choice, and the opportunity of what language to talk in! Was great to see the French gang, and spend time with everyone, including making some new friends. Finished my evening playing baby-foot with Anna, Simon and Dana and I'm not going to tell you who won...boy, do the French like to play it!

All-in-all, great day, great evening, happy Jen. Even happier Jen knowing she has a lie-in tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.