Transitoire

By Transitoire

Lunettes de soleil

Today I only had one class, the sixième INTER, as all this week the troisième are on stage (work experience)...but unlike the teachers, who have the time off, I have to find other hours to work so I still do my 12 hours a week. A little unfair, but I can't really complain! So the sixième are starting work on their new projects, an e-book to send to their pen pals in Sweden...and boy, are some of them really cute already! They have to do it in a 'Barnaby Bear' style, where the character goes to a foreign country and explores it. Their characters were going to Brazil, Vancouver, Amsterdam, Alaska...to name but a few. They are really enjoying finding all the photographs and everything to go with the writing...but honestly, they need me and their teacher there to correct a lot of their spelling and syntax mistakes. Then again, they are only ten...and writing in their second language! Glad to be a part of everything that is happening with this group, as they really are lovely.

After school had finished I went home to plan the rest of my lessons for the week, and attempt to catch up on Blip (I know, I've been bad recently!) before going out to meet Baptiste for a coffee or two. The weather is now so sunny (I even bought sunglasses!) that it is perfectly acceptable to sit outside to enjoy your drink rather than inside! I mean, it does mean you then have the issue of all the smokers, but at the same time...it is your choice to sit there I guess! Oh, yeah, and for those who don't know...this is Baptiste, the beautiful man that he is. Always happy to pull poses and faces until I have a good enough photograph for the day, he is also one of my best friends here in Caen...and even with the language barrier; we still manage to tell each other everything! Isn't that what friendship is about? I don't want to think yet about having to leave all the wonderful friends I've made this year behind when I have to go back to university.

So my evening was spent in Sémaphore at the Melting Pomme's soirée Valentin for everyone. I mean, from my experience in Caen...there are a lot more gay men than I ever expected, and I love it! I mean, usually there is Flavie and I...and the two of us are usually "the women". Flavie is actually the president of the society (even though she is in fact, straight) and me...well, I think I'm the novelty, as the majority of the people who go are male, gay and French...and I'm female, straight and English! It works in my favour though, because everyone is so patient with me when I'm attempting to find a French word, or things like that. Anyhows, lovely evening had by all and I am more than glad that I decided to stay out even though I was tired.

Time is precious, and it should never be wasted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.