Transitoire

By Transitoire

Il y a du soleil!

That is right, sun. For two days straight now...so in honour of the weather Dana and I headed to the Jardin des Plantes for a little explore. And here is another photograph to prove it! Now, it is with sadness that I write this in a way, as this is the last time that Dana and I will be able to go on a spontaneous road trip in Normandy, as she is leaving on Wednesday to go back to Germany. So there was no other person that I could blip today...and also, I made it into the blip too!

Now the Jardin des Plantes is well worth a visit if you are in Caen, it is just so peaceful and in the summer is just full of colour. It also has a little farm right at the top of the hill (yes, it is on a hill, overlooking Caen) with traditional Norman animals. Is it wrong of me that I looked at a lot of them and imagined what they would taste like on a plate? Anyways, was so lovely to finally manage to find a day where Dana and I could catch up properly...and of course we had beaucoup de choses à raconter. Going to miss this girl a lot. Oh well, with cheap air travel and all that jazz, I'm sure I will see her again! After spending an hour or so in the park, we decided the next thing to do would be to go to the beach...perfect idea! So I got to see another lovely golden Normandy beach, in full sunlight...if a little windy by this point.

Words learnt today:-
- L'embarcadère - the pier
- Cerfs-volants - kites
- Coquillages - shells


Anyhows, we managed to resist the temptation of both MacDonald's and a vin chaud and headed back to chez Dana for tea and chocolates. And more conversation of course! While we were talking, one of the house cats took it upon themselves to come and sit on my knee, which I found awesome of course as I miss my own cat at home quite a lot...so my day just kept getting better!! Dana also showed me these rather interesting videos, showing the different "sounds" that animals make in different "languages": here are the French and English ones if you are interested!

After a solid five hours or so with Dana, I then headed to Dolly's for Schwetabh's birthday meal. And of course, Dolly's never disappoints! A Dolly Deluxe burger was on my mind, with a burger, fried egg, slice of bacon, cheddar cheese, tomato relish and coleslaw...perfect. Sometimes you just really need to pig out food-wise I think! Was also great to meet some other friends of Shwetabh, and we had some really interesting debates about the schooling systems in different countries...having someone from India, America, Canada, France, Poland, Germany and England on the same table makes for really fascinating arguments! All in all, a fabulous night...and I'm very glad that Shwetabh liked his present as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.