Crazy Mixed Up Garden

I chose this because it shows the garden at a funny time of transition. Here you’ve got an Earl of Essex iris, completely out of season, in the same bed as the Love Song rose, which I would say is also out of season, as are most of our roses which have been putting on quite a show. This morning’s low of 34 degrees should take care of all that exuberance, but in the meantime there’s a surprising amount of color out there. The flamingo seems comfortable with whatever weather comes down the pike. There is a pear tree in the middle distance that has lost most of its leaves, and an apple tree in the rear that has only just turned yellow. You might be able to see a couple of raised beds in the back. Mr S just finished turning one of them and it is ready for my little broccoli and rabe seedlings. I’m reluctant to actually put them in the ground because so many things have been destroyed by the squirrels and birds this year. But here I am hoping my minuscule little plantlets will survive into full-on vegetables...  The other raised beds are for new blueberry bushes which will go in the ground as soon as our helper gets back from wherever it was he went. I’ve got a plan to make a hoop type frame to facilitate netting when we get fruit. So that’s the tour for today. 


I’m still working on SuperImposeX (which always looks to me like I’m saying Super Impose Sex—like on everything), but the images I take for that are of textures and abstracts, nothing to post yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.