An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

I'm just a jealous guy...

..or, always the bridesmaid, never the bride, or any other Ménage à trois cliche you fancy.

This shot did not 'just happen' when I wandered into the garden. I had probably been outside 'gardening' for a couple of hours or so (which involves a few minutes messing about with the secateurs and many more minutes standing next to a likely plant waiting for something to happen). I was trying to find the tiniest little wasp I have ever seen (maybe 2mm long - I could only tell it was a wasp when looking at it through the macro lens) which kept flying off and then it would take ages to find it again, to have it fly off once more... (did I ever mention that patience is the most important requirement for photographing insects?!) when I eventually saw these two skippers getting happy together (look at their faces; they seem pretty happy to me!). I went to move the blue toboggan that is accidentally in the background, came back and this jealous skipper was trying to get a piece of the action too! (I have a couple of shots that are just too racy for a family show like blip!). He eventually gave up and watched from a respectable distance.

I'm amazed I wasn't stung by the hoards of honey bees in the mint bush, as I had to get into the middle of the plant to get this angle, to ensure both of the happy couple were in the focal plane.

See their smiling faces?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.