An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Just call me Joseph.

This tiny little moth (sorry, I haven't had time to try and ID it yet) is only about 2 to 3mm long and was just a tiny flash of gold until I looked through the macro lens.

I think there must be something in the the air that is bringing out things I have never seen before (a great big storm! with 19mm of rain! amazing and now I know how much my gutters need cleaning out, after a bit of neglect over the summer - serious overflow issues!)

I am so mad with myself and my inability to focus quickly - I saw a little green thing, which admittedly was not keeping at all still and it was on the bricks, which is not the best background, and I took a couple of shots. It turns out to be the most beautiful green cuckoo wasp - something I have never seen before. Completely unblipable shots. Grrhh. Still waiting to see the leafcutter bee again too, to get some better shots. Things seem to come once and never return - at least when I'm watching.

I have also seen a few small native wasps - which I could grow to like just as much as native bees, if only they would keep still! One Potter wasp was zapping flies and then carrying them off - to feed it's young I assume.

Though not the most perfectly in focus image you'll ever see, I do love the shiny colours of this moth, so have a look bigger of you like. I did actually get a shot of this moth and a tiny Homalictus bee together, but the bee isn't very well focused.

ID: I think it is a sort of Choreutidae, or 'metalmark moth', though which one exactly I don't know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.