CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Garden Cliff on the River Severn as sun set

I  spent a lot of time with my camera today, catching the beautiful autumnal light after a very misty morning. Late in the afternoon I drove to buy some of Jess's Ladies special milk once again and took the opportunity of a quick walk by the River Severn at Arlingham. 

On the way back I chose a single track lane which I hadn't been down for some years. As I reached the summit of a hillock I spotted this beautiful light on these cliffs beside the river. I had no idea they were there and have now found that they are called Garden Cliff, just outside Westbury-on-Severn, on the Forest of Dean bank of the river. I've seen on a map that there is a small lane leading to the cliff so one day I hope to go over there, which requires crossing the river at Gloucester, and exploring further. 

The setting sun briefly appeared under the low clouds and shone its light across the landscape.

I've marked the location of the cliff on the map. Do have a look as this is a very interesting meander of the tidal River Severn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.