Sunset from Daisybank

Late in the afternoon the sky cleared and the sun shone. It prompted me to go into the garden to take a few pictures of some late flowers, and then as an afterthought I walked around the cemetery. Coming back home along Horns Road I spotted a horse being ridden down towards town and followed it with the thought of getting a blip. Unfortunately the horse was swifter than me and I couldn't get to a suitable viewpoint.

However I had walked down to Daisybank so decided to climb the steps  into the small elevated park to see what was going on. It is a very much loved and well used local public space, especially for families with children as there is an old-fashioned children's play area. I'm a member of the Friends of Daisybank.

Sledging on Daisybank

I took some views of the adjacent houses with lights shining out into the rapidly approaching dusk. I then turned to head home and took this picture looking out west across the rooftops of Stroud with the gap in the Cotswold escarpment and the Forest of Dean's hills in the far distance, close to where I blipped the cliffs on the River Severn on Sunday.

Our wonderful local pub, the Crown and Sceptre, is the slightly pink looking building at the bottom of the park. It was only about a hundred yards to walk home from this spot. We are so lucky to have this on our doorstep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.