Today I enjoyed a climbing day with Paul of Peak Mountaineering. I'd booked it so that I could climb routes harder than I'm capable of leading (even though at the moment I'm not doing that stuff) and it was great!

We went to Froggatt Edge and started with routes that I was familiar with through leading, then moved onto others that I hadn't previously climbed. 

My confidence at present is fairly low, but Paul was great, and once I'd calmed down I began to improve.

When I started climbing in 2015 I had no idea about routes or grades, I just climbed the routes (mostly HS/VS) I was told we were climbing.  But once I started leading I was limited by that grade and the grade of my partners. The club members who climb harder don't tend to join club climbing days, they make their own arrangements.... which is understandable as climbers are basically selfish, so gradually my ability has declined through lack of practice. I'd like it to improve. 

P.S.the pics:- 
I'm exhausted after seconding Green Gut -that's cumulative exhaustion!
Paul retrieving belay gear.
The view!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.