Multi-record.

1. The purveyor of free eggs has gone.
2. Must check what Roland Hill's up to sometime.

Val said "they" were coming to look at the bungalow on (a) Thursday; we presume, from the speed of the sold sign, they liked what they saw.

"Local lad makes good." I remember Roland Hill from way back, his base was within a couple of miles or so of home. He has, as a US friend once said - "grew some".
Out of interest I looked him up:-
"In October 1951, with his bike as transport, a set of tools and no telephone, he started as a one man operation from Solway View, Plumbland, doing plumbing, painting, milking and general help.
In 1953 he put aside his bike and bought his first van~ ~ ~ ~".
I think it's fair to say he's "come on a bit since then."  I remember seeing his van now and then if we ever biked in that area.  His "history" shows a series of photos, including a bike. I didn't read to see if it was his original or a "Faxismile".  

He's been working locally for uncounted weeks/months on a local building. ("The Play Station". playing WHAT I've no idea, but hear wild drumming now and then from that general direction.) So why-ever the road is closed it's probably more for multi vehicle parking and access than actual work ON the road; we shall see.
Good job I know the area. 
On my way out I went down the hill, as indicated and never saw another sign, taking the route I knew, until I reached the end of the diversion and was told to turn in the right direction.
On my return, again I turned down the hill; but when I got to the point I turn up hill to home I was instructed to turn down the hill. I understand WHY, but imagine it might be confusing to non-locals had they wanted to return to our road, or part of the estate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.