Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

My New Friend, Molly

Meet my New Friend, Molly. Yes, she has four legs, as some of you guessed! She's lovely, and is a bit completely obsessed with her tennis ball.

The other day, while walking down to see Mr Lincoln, I spotted a sign in a shop window saying,
'Anyone who would like to take a friendly dog for a walk, please ask within.' I thought I was dreaming!

So this morning I arranged to come and take Molly out for a while. I have always thought those plastic things to throw tennis balls really far were a brilliant idea. I hope whoever invented them patented the design and has made a fortune. But today I found out first hand that they are completely wonderful. You never need to touch the gooby ball!

And you can throw really far. That is, once you get the hang of it. The first few several balls, after a big effort on my part, seemed to leave the plastic thingy on a downward trajectory and embed in the mud about a metre away. Meanwhile Molly would be miles away, looking for it. But we got the hang of it eventually. Sideways is quite good.

Molly ran and ran and ran. But it was pretty cold for me, as I wasn't running much at all. I took her back after half an hour or so, as arranged. And we were all happy - Molly, her owner stuck in a shop all day, and especially me. I have found a new friend!

Went to visit Uncle A on the promise of a cappuccino from his machine, which was today accompanied by a chocoate cake. Uncle A lent me his birdwatching binoculars. I will look much more professional next week, and may even spot something!

My pal S texted to remind me of our coffee date, which I had forgotten thought was tomorrow, but I was able to jump on the bus from Uncle A's and meet her at the designated place. We went to my Our Club and had a coffee and a yak for a couple of hours.

Nearly forgot! I swam a kilometre this morning. It was good to be back. It's amazing how much warmer I feel with the hat on!

A busy, and exciting day. Feet up now and maybe some biscuits with my coffee... Must go and wash the breakfast dishes before JR gets home!

NB: Although I now have Molly as my Special Doggy Friend, this does NOT mean I have given up on having a dog of my own!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.