EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

Glad to be home...

Some people arrange their lives through a diary, the pc, work, an I phone, or a vast array of other situations and components that are happening at that given time in their lives.

For almost 3 years now, I have arranged my days by the 'Very first' thought or image thing that enters my head when I wake up. It could be a simple thing such as visit a certain friend, or I may have to buy a certain item. Most of the time, I have a thought to be somewhere, cycle somewhere, take a certain photo, climb the mountain!...The list is endless, but I guess my blips correspond to those initial thoughts upon awakening, unless something steps in and takes me somewhere else :-)

For the last few days, it's not been so clear as to what I should do, but today, I thought of the incredible Temple of Amenhotep III on the West Bank. The mighty Colossi of Memnon and the whole temple area, is the most incredible place to see and feel.

Popping to the Nile on my bicycle, I bought take away egg and cheese sandwiches, from 'Mostafa Sandwich'THE' best egg sandwiches in the World..guaranteed! I would take the sandwiches to the Temple and sit and observe the mission at work.

So much work has been carried out at this site for a number of years now. Each season more discoveries are made and history re surfacing, revealing a little more about the Pharaoah and his Palace. As I arrived at the Temple of Amenhotep III, the team had been preparing to lift the head and body of a once mighty Pharoah. He had laid covered for over 3000 years, broken in several pieces.

After just a few minutes, the gigantic crane, began to lift the first piece from the soil. Amenhotep III emerged, with dignity for the first time in 3000 years. I gasped and placed my hand over my mouth 'Wow' He was stunningly beautiful, intact, clean and smiled, as he was rapidly moved to a sand 'Bed' and covered in cloth. I had goosebumps and felt the once majestic statue 'Breathe' again, it brought tears to my eyes.

Never had I imagined what magic was in store for me on a Wednesday morning, an experience never to be repeated. What wonderful work these people do and Just across the field is another giant statue. (I came across his feet years ago as I walked in the fields)

Egyptian history is unique, magical and will never be fully understood. Me? I am happy to be immersed in it's wonder and see the occasional treat, such as today.

No photos allowed, though all the tourists were snapping around me, I respect the rules of a dig and work in progress. So this is why, todays' Blip is of my street, my cat and my happiness to be home after a very special day :-)

PS Always listen to your heart and thoughts ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.