Not Your Grandmother's Thanksgiving

My son and I took a nice walk this morning, along the river levee, down to the beach, and home via the Boardwalk amusement park. Most of the attractions are closed, and masks are required when walking on the property. As you can see it was a gorgeous blue day, a tad chilly, but definitely beach time. Suddenly the sound system began blaring Frosty the Snowman. There were pumpkins and hay bales everywhere, juxtaposed with wreaths and trees and garlands, two holidays struggling for recognition, but playing to an empty house.

It was strange not to be cooking a big dinner. Mr S and I had a delicious takeout meal that travelled well and heated up nicely.There was even enough food to have leftovers for tomorrow, always a big part of the celebration. I insisted on a tablecloth, centerpiece and a candle. It was certainly the most effortless Thanksgiving we've ever had. Earlier we Zoomed with friends and family for Happy Hour, and it was fun to be in a group; you could sorta almost kinda forget it wasn't real. And I'm grateful we could do it. I am. I'm grateful we are all healthy and making the best of our strange world. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.