Glistening fruit

Today I had to do something that was pretty mindless as my concentration levels were at a low. Preparing the Christmas cake was the 'the thing' and now it is sat happily soaking in brandy!
I knew there would be constant breaks for phone calls and the need to keep a clear head today so that I could deal with a difficult day.
It started with a distressed phone call from my brother who has tested positive again for Covid, although we all believe it is just still in his system and not something new. He has been quite unwell since returning from hospital and although some days have been better than others he has been unable to walk more than a few paces without oxygen and has had a persistent cough making it difficult to breathe and talk at times.  As I've said before he is a difficult patient and not a straight thinker when things aren't going well. He won't sleep, although he's been told that's the best medicine, as he thinks he will die in his sleep. He panics and that of course makes the breathing worse. His wife and son are staying with him at all times and are now having to move him around in a wheelchair the whole time.
My mum is so upset by it all and took herself off to bed during the day which she would never do normally. She just wanted to escape. She's on her own and we're all worried about her.  Unfortunately Charlotte won't be able to go into mum's flat this week as my brother' son was there just a couple of days ago. Mum has asked Charlotte not to go, just in case, but Charlotte is going over today to take her for a walk just to get her out of the house for a while.
I spent almost an hour on the phone, in queues being put through to various departments to sort out mum's missed hospital telephone appointment. It seems the consultant was off sick so no calls were made. Surely a group text for cancelled appointments that day would have stopped people, like mum, from worrying!
I took Reg for a brief walk down  the village and up the hill for a bit of an escape and I fitted in twenty minutes yoga to relax. Both needed and enjoyed!
There were several more calls throughout the day where I tried to get my brother to calm down and see a bit of sense. My SIL I struggling with him. By teatime things seemed a bit better. They had spoken to a doctor and he is now on a course of antibiotics to hopefully rid the cough. 
A calmer end to the day with a bit of crochet and choosing some wool to make myself a cardigan. Then to bed.
Tomorrow we start afresh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.