If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Christmas is coming.

Every year we buy a Poinsettia as part of our Christmas decorations.  Every year I try to grow it on and bring it into flower.  The growing on is fairly easy providing you don't let it get thirsty.  If you do it sheds leaves.

Getting the colour is more difficult.   Last year was the first year I had any success at all.  By the end of the year it looked like this.   As you can see this year I have been more successful, not up to commercial standards but doing better.  It is short days which cause the red to form.   This year I have been able to keep the plant with normal daylight hours.   Last year I went into the room occasionally at night and the minute or so of light must have made the difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.